Michael Laake Wins Limit Omaha 8 Outright

2023 Tampa Poker Classic
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Event 2

$400 Limit Omaha 8 (Re-Entry)
$10,000 Guaranteed

Entries: 73
Prize Pool: $24,455
March 8, 2023

Michael Laake, 2023 TPC Event 2 Champ
Michael Laake, 2023 TPC Event 2 Champ

The first trophy of the 2023 Tampa Poker Classic was awarded in the $400 Limit Omaha 8 one-day tournament and Tampa favorite Michael Laake took the outright title at a tough final table.

The tournament drew 73 entries to more than double the $10,000 guarantee and create a prize pool worth $24,455. The last ten spots were paid with Jacob Naumann, Wally Maddah and WPO Limit Omaha 8 champ Jordan Joeckel cashing but falling short of another trophy.

The title came down to a heads-up battle between Laake and two-time WSOP bracelet winner/11-time WSOP Circuit champ Ari Engel. Laake held off a tough competitor to earn his second major Tampa title along with $7,485.

PlaceFirst NameLast NameCityStatePrize Amount
1MichaelLaakeSt PetersburgFL$7,485
2AlanEngelDelray BeachFL$5,000
3DaleSchmitzWesley ChapelFL$3,330
5EliseRosenNew YorkNY$1,680
6AlexanderRivera CruzCaguasPR$1,280
7JordanJoeckelSan AntonioFL$1,020