Tommy “Dragonfish” Hwang Wins the Eight-Game Mix on the Last Night at SPS

2023 Tampa Signature Poker Series
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Event 24
$600 Eight-Game Mix (Re-Entry)
Entries: 67
Prize Pool: $34,505
September 19, 2023

Tommy “Dragonfish” Hwang

The eight-game mixed tournament was a new addition to the tournament lineup tonight at the SPS series to close things out, and Tommy “Dragonfish” Hwang won the top prize of $10,535. Former World Poker Tour player of the year Joe Serock was gunning for his second trophy of the day after winning the High Roller earlier, but Hwang used his 2:1 chip advantage at the start of heads-up play to win the day. Hwang moved to Florida from Virginia for his retirement, and poker has become one of his hobbies that certainly proved profitable tonight.

Hwang was all smiles after the victory when we caught up with him for an exit interview. “To be honest, I wanted the trophy, so there was no discussion of chopping or anything. And I wanted to see what it would feel like to take down Joe Serock, who I knew was a long-time pro. I’ve heard of his name since probably 10 years ago,” said Hwang after the win,

Hwang continued, “I’m more of a poker fan, not a poker pro. I listen to all of the podcasts, and I follow all the news, I watch all the broadcasts, so I enjoy it from that perspective.”

“He doesn’t talk a lot, but he was enjoyable to play with. I think the whole tournament and final table were, and I normally try to liven it up with conversations and try to hold the same demeanor whether I’m up or I’m down. I was very short a couple times during the tournament, but you have fun,” said Hwang about his journey throughout the tournament today.

Final Results:

1st: Tommy “Dragonfish” Hwang – $10,535 + SPS Trophy
2nd: Joe Serock – $6,810
3rd: Nicholas Zivolich – $4,530
4th: Elias Nassif – $3,110
5th: Stephanie Behanic – $2,190
6th: Josh Kinch – $1,590
7th: Gregory Josephson –  $1,200
8th: Brian Ulich – $1,200

9th: Stephen Allen – $930
10th: David Moreno – $930

11th: Anthony Askey – $740
12th: Filippos Stavrakis – $740