SHRT Summer Poker Open Final Results – Event 6

Seminole Hard Rock Tampa Summer Poker Open
Event 6: $300 Omaha H/L (Re-Entry)
June 3-4, 2014

Entries: 69
Total Buy-In: $20,700

Bryan Scofield E6 Winner
Winner – Bryan Scofield

Primarily a No Limit cash game player, poker pro Bryan Scofield (Tampa, FL) used his love for Omaha to best the field in Event 6 of the Seminole Hard Rock Tampa Summer Poker Open.

“It’s probably my favorite game to play,” said Scofield who held a commanding chip lead three-handed on his way to the title and the $6,035 first prize.  “I tried it to break up the monotony of hold’em and was hooked.”

Scofield had 700 of the 800+ chips in play on the penultimate hand of the tournament with Steve Allen (Bradenton, FL) and Patrick Cummins (Tampa, FL).

Scofield and Allen chopped Cummins chips who was eliminated in third place. Schofield then defeated Allen heads up on the ensuing hand.

“You have to have chips,” said Allen who finished runner-up for $2,070.  “He’s a good player,” Allen said of Scofield, “but you have to have chips.”

“They were getting  short and I could raise every hand,” said the 39-year-old Scofield. “Basically I was playing my stack and putting pressure on them.”

The tournament began with 69 entries that created a total buy-in of $20,700. The field reached the money on Day 1 with John Buzbee (8th) and Harry Wilks (9th) eliminated before the end of night bag and tag.

The final 7 players returned for Day 2 with Cris Tuchbaum the extreme short stack (11k) who was eliminated in 7th place.

Jarek Poniatowski was next to go (6th), followed by Ryan Arkin and Peter Dragar.  Scofield and Dragar split the pot to eliminate Arkin (5th), while Scofield knocked out Dragar (4th) to build the commanding lead.

“It was a really good table,” said Scofield who held  Kd9s8c5d on the final hand that he won with a Ten-high straight, “the all played really well.”

In addition to the money and guitar trophy, Scofield earned a $3,500 entry into the Summer Poker Open Championship Event (June 12-18).

1st Bryan Scofield (Tampa, FL) $6,035
2nd Steve Allen (Bradenton, FL) $3,278
3rd Patrick Cummins (Tampa, FL) $2,070
4th Peter Dragar (Budapest, Hungary) $1,553
5th Ryan Arkin (Tampa, FL) $1,208
6th Jarek Poniatowski (Venice, FL) $1,035
7th Cris Tuchbaum (Lakeland, FL) $863
8th John Buzbee (Riverview, FL) $690
9th Harry Wilks (Clearwater, FL) $518