Rex Clinkscales Defeats 704 Entries in WPTDeepStacks Main Event, Wins $162K

2017 WPTDeepStacks
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Main Event
$1,100 No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
Entries: 704
Prize Pool: $689,920
June 15-19, 2017

Photo: Drew Amato/WPTDeepStacks

WPTDeepStacks Main Event draws more than 700 entries, marks 30 percent year over year growth for Tampa and the third-largest finale in the tour’s history

(Tampa, Fla.) — Rex Clinkscales came out on top of the third-largest field in WPTDeepStacks Main Event history Monday evening at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino. Clinkscales, a Las Vegas-based professional poker player, maneuvered through 704 entries in the $1,100 buy-in event taking home $162,354 and a $5,250 seat in the August’s Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open Championship. In addition, the top prize is inclusive of a $3,000 WPTDeepStacks Championship package.

“It feels amazing,” Clinkscales told WPTDeepStacks’ Jeanine Deeb. “It’s an incredible feeling. I’m just really blessed and really fortunate to even be here. I’m just very thankful to be able to win.”

The 2017 series marked the second consecutive year for the Tampa property to host the WPTDeepStacks. The inaugural event was a huge success drawing more than 500 entries, but year two blew the doors off the Seminole Hard Rock’s new, state-of-the-art poker room. The 704-entry turnout marked an attendance increase of more than 30 percent year over year. The prize pool more than doubled the $300,000 guarantee before settling in at $689,920.

“I realized and I remembered that this tournament was going on in Tampa,” said Clinkscales, who left Las Vegas to play the event. “[Seminole][Hard][Rock][Tampa] is amazing. This place is gorgeous, the staff is great. I highly recommend this place to everyone.”

Starting flights for the event ran at 12pm, Thursday, June 15, Friday, June 16 and Saturday June 17. The first two days drew 191 and 199 entries respectively while Saturday’s play settled in at a stout 314. Day 2 began Sunday at 12pm with 127 players remaining and only the top 72 finishing in the money. Reigning Seminole Hard Rock Poker Player of the Year David Prociak, WPTDeepStacks-Hollywood Main Event champion Michael Graffeo and Seminole Hard Rock Tampa poker ambassador Wally Maddah were among those to bust shy of the money.

The bubble burst a couple hours in to Day 2 and defending Champion Anthony Astarita (22nd, $3,641) headlined those who finished in the money. The action concluded when nine players remained and they returned Monday at 12pm to play the event out in Hard Rock Cafe on the live streamed final table. Sebastian Momtazi lead the way while Clinkscales sat second in the counts. Joining the duo at the top were hometown favorites Daniel Lobato, Amelio Amato and reigning WPTDeepStacks Player of the Series Karl Manouchakian.

The action moved fast as Manouchakian, Lobato and Amato exited ninth, eighth and seventh respectively. Clinkscales cruised as Zoltan Anda busted sixth, Ryan Luker fifth and Andrew Boccia fourth. Clinkscales eliminated Momtazi third and took a nearly three-to-one chip lead into heads up play against Michael Cohen. The final duel lasted only a few hands as Cohen succumbed to Clinkscales finishing runner up for $92,734.

Clinkscales is 34 years old and a regular on the poker tournament circuit. His tournament resume boasts over 120 cashes and nine victories. His win in Tampa marks his largest score to date and moves him over $1,175,000 in career earnings.

The WPTDeepStacks at Seminole Hard Rock began June 8th and concluded Monday evening with Clinkscales’ victory. In all, the series boasted five primary events. In addition to the Main Event, the 12-day festival was headlined by $570 and $350 prelims.

Main Event results:

1st: Rex Clinkscales – $162,354* + Guitar Trophy/SHRPO Seat
2nd: Michael Cohen – $92,734
3rd: Sebastian Momtazi – $56,671
4th: Andrew Boccia – $46,711
5th: Ryan Luker – $37,781
6th: Zoltan Anda – $30,911
7th: Amelio Amato – $24,729
8th: Daniel Lobato – $18,890
9th: Karl Manouchakian – $13,051
10th: Michael Gallo – $8,587
11th: Jeff Krusinski – $8,587
12th: Shawn Barnett – $8,587
13th: Harvey Vandeven – $6,182
14th: Jennifer Parker – $6,182
15th: Michael Vadala – $6,182
16th: Matt Steinberg – $4,259
17th: Rafael Fernandes – $4,259
18th: Howard Millian – $4,259
19th: Claudemir Osorio – $3,641
20th: John Ott – $3,641
21st: David Rauf – $3,641
22nd: Anthony Astarita – $3,641
23rd: Ryan Galpern – $3,641
24th: Larry Lee – $3,641
25th: Chad Padgett – $3,641
26th: Mirza Sopovic – $3,641
27th: Maroun Akiki – $3,641
28th: Andrew Grose – $3,229
29th: James Nettnin – $3,229
30th: Kyle Jensen – $3,229
31st: Joseph Mole – $3,229
32nd: Christian De Guzman – $3,229
33rd: Li ZHou – $3,229
34th: James Sutherland – $3,229
35th: Danny Wilson – $3,229
36th: Charles Johnson – $3,229
37th: Gregory Balot – $2,885
38th: Dillon Burns – $2,885
39th: Mauricio Farias – $2,885
40th: Steve Trizis – $2,885
41st: Daniel Griggs – $2,885
42nd: Natalia Nogina – $2,885
43rd: Stepas Tindziulis – $2,885
44th: Haroon Samnani – $2,885
45th: Peter Walsworth – $2,885
46th: Carlos Evangelista – $2,542
47th: Jeffrey Albright – $2,542
48th: James McDonald – $2,542
49th: Christopher Hyden – $2,542
50th: Michael Landress – $2,542
51st: David Tiffenberg – $2,542
52nd: Michael Palumbo – $2,542
53rd: Ronald Sullivan – $2,542
54th: Gareth Walker – $2,542
55th: Evan Panesis – $2,267
56th: Dustin Smith – $2,267
57th: Collin Wilson – $2,267
58th: Katherine Stahl – $2,267
59th: Robert Woodward – $2,267
60th: James Smith – $2,267
61st: David Owens – $2,267
62nd: John McCarthy – $2,267
63rd: Michael Le May – $2,267
64th: Harry Rosenblum– $1,992
65th: Alexander Colin – $1,992
66th: Brett Howard – $1,992
67th: Peter Bradley – $1,992
68th: Ok Haselton – $1,992
69th: Wagner Wysotchanski – $1,992
70th: Jorge Gomez – $1,992
71st: Amie Martini – $1,992
72nd: Andre Crooks – $1,992