Michael Hermoza Takes Home the Trophy in Event 8

2022 WPT Tampa
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Event 8
$400 No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$20,000 Guaranteed
Entries:  296
Prize Pool:  $99,160
August 28, 2022

Michael Hermoza

Michael Hermoza topped the field in Event 8 to take home the WPT Trophy and first-place prize worth $21,890. Here is what he had to say right after the victory: “I’m from Colombia, so I just traveled here to start living in New York so this is a very high experience. I played down in Miami, in the opening event I came 27th, so I see that it’s a very good tournament to play so I decided to come here to Tampa.”

“I actually knocked out seven players at the final table, and when it got down to three-handed play I had some really easy decisions most of the time. I did good things at the final table, I never felt too much pressure, I just won my hands and the ICM is very important in these situations,” said Hermoza when he was asked about his journey through the final table.

Hermoza also mentioned that he was inspired by his recent success at the Seminole Hard Rock Poker Open to make the trip down here to Tampa. “This whole chain of casinos are really, really good. Miami was amazing, and here the structure of the tournaments was really, really nice. I never felt the pressure of the blinds. It doesn’t matter what the price of the buy-in is, they do really good things. And know I’m going to play some more events,” said Hermoza.

Here is a look at the final table results for the event:

PlaceFirst NameLast NamePrize Payout
1MichaelHermoza$21,890 +WPT Trophy

And here are the results from earlier tonight:

10th: Timothy Diederich – $1,850
11th: Brian Britton – $1,850
12th: Julio Novo – $1,850
13th: Brent Ballentine – $1,570
14th: Ali Farik – $1,570
15th: Spencer Sanchez – $1,570
16th: Philip Starner – $1,310
17th: Michael Mestey – $1,310
18th: Cathy Schenone – $1,310
19th: Patrick McConnell – $1,070
20th: Michael Jimenez – $1,070
21st: Shawn Pecora – $1,070
22nd: Timothy Turner – $860
23rd: Steven Queen – $860
24th: Barbara Cardin – $860
25th: Jakob Parks – $760
26th: Robert Brandl – $760
27th: Jerome Bocquet – $760
28th: Nicholas Visconti – $670
29th: Jason Kaplan – $670
30th: Eric Valerio – $670
31st:  Lisa Karl – $670
32nd: Samm Wiggins – $670
33rd: Vincent Censabella – $670
34th: John Disantis – $670
35th: Phillip Krnyaichi – $670
36th: Michael Guzzardi – $670
37th: Phillip Theard – $600