Kevin Malick Wins the Trophy in Event 22 at the End of the Night

2023 Tampa Signature Poker Series
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Event 22
$250 Triple Stack NLH (Re-Entry)
$20,000 Guaranteed
Entries: 107
Prize Pool: $21,935
September 18, 2023

Kevin Malick

Kevin Malick won Event 22 tonight and took home the SPS guitar pick trophy along with the top prize of $6,565. We caught up with him shortly after the tournament to discuss the victory.

“It feels really good. It was a big grind all day, and a lot of tough players were here today. It’s very rewarding to win something like this,” said Malick.

Malick continued when asked about his path to victory with this, “Well, anybody that wins a tournament has to win a few hands of sheer luck. And fortunately the luck hit me on the right time, on the right hands, and here I am. The players were tough, It was a grind. It was up and down, up and down. And at one time at the final table I was pretty short stacked, and you just get on one of those streaks, and you just have to ride the streak.”

“You just have to keep focused, you have to keep your concentration and this takes a lot out of you. I don’t see how these people can do it everyday. I can’t do it everyday [laughs],” said Malick about weathering the storms that happen over the course of a tournament.

At the end of the interview Malick was asked about his thoughts on playing different events during this SPS series, and here is what he closed things out with: “I play in tournaments all over the area, and the Hard Rock seems to have a class tournament. They run it very well. The employees do a great job, and it’s just a well-run and a well-structured tournament here at the Hard Rock from A to Z … this is a class-act here at the Hard Rock.”

Final Results: 

1st: Kevin Malick – $6,565 + SPS Trophy
2nd: Nicholas Costa – $4,060
3rd: Clive Gavin – $2,430
4th: Joseph Parrish – $1,590
5th: Michael Reynolds – $1,230
6th: Tanupat Punjarojanakul – $1,010
7th: Cory Chen – $860
8th: Danny Zappulla – $750
9th: Chase Madden – $660
10th: Mark Wiser – $580
11th: Sanjib Acharya – $580
12th: Joaquin Balaguer – $580
13th: Thomas Jackson – $520
14th: Peter Walsworth – $520