Peter Walsworth Wins Winter Poker Open Event 9

2021 Tampa Winter Poker Open
Seminole Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
Tampa, Florida
Event 9
$600 No Limit Hold’em (Re-Entry)
$30,000 Guaranteed
Entries: 186
Prize Pool:  $98,580
December 7, 2021

Peter Walsworth

The penultimate warmup for the Winter Poker Open Main Event was a $600 No Limit Hold’em game with a $30,000 guarantee. The tournament drew 186 entries and Peter Walsworth took top honors along with $23,970 for the win.

The tournament kept the theme of the previous games and easily beats its guarantee to put $98,580 in the prize pool. The last 19 players took home some money with the long bubble completed after the dinner break when Carmen S was eliminated from her fun table.

The final table formed quickly after the bubble burst and included some tough players including 14-time WSOPC champ Maurice Hawkins, September Super Stacks champ Thomas Elder, WPTDeepStacks Tampa Main Event final table member Ryan Luker, and WPO Event 6 winner Brandon Byars.

Walsworth made a heads-up deal with Hawkins, in the end, to take the title along with $26,870. He already captured two SHRP Hollywood wins before today and added a Tampa trophy to his collection.

1st: Peter Walsworth – $23,970 + WPO trophy *
2nd: Maurice Hawkins – $19,500 *
3rd: Edmund Buker – $11,440
4th: Brandon Byars – $8,100
5th: Suju Abraham – $5,900
6th: Ryan Luker – $4,430
7th: Ryan Mazurkiewicz – $3,420
8th: Thomas Elder – $2,730
9th: Eric Tarikas – $2,250
10th: Mark Wahba – $2,250
11th: Frederick Conforit – $1,910
12th: Joe Marincola – $1,910
13th: Antonio Payne – $1,680
14th: Randy Raji – $1,680
15th: Ron Johnston – $1,530
16th: Frederick Zupanc – $1,530
17th: Blair Miller – $1,450
18th: Mark Rupnik – $1,450
19th: Anthony Astarita – $1,450
* – Denotes results of a heads-up deal